Wondrous Occasion

I’m proud to say that I’ve finally finished all my Christmas ’07 gifts and just in time for the Ides of March, though I hope they don’t portend displeasure with my pressies. For my Dad, I made a travel toiletry bag. He usually dumps stuff like that in Ziploc bags, so I figured he could do with something more significant. Awhile ago, he picked out some plaid fabric he liked, so I used that in combination with this black waterproofy stuff for the inside. I started out using this pattern and ended up, regrettably, using this one. As a beginning sewer I can say with absolute certainty that combining patterns and winging it was a really bad idea. The end result was a trapezoid-shaped toiletry bag that I pray will not often see the light of day. I fretted over re-doing it to make it better but decided to embrace its flaws and quit being such a lame-o perfectionist.

Last but not least, after much hemming (har har) and hawing about what to make, I whipped up a corkboard wallpocket for Ms. Moxy:

Corkboard Wallpocket

The tutorial is relatively easy to follow, although I’d make a few changes next time around. Those things would probably bore most people to tears so I’ll digress but if you want more info, let me know and I’ll share my ideas.

Sidebar: I Two-Scoops-of-Raisins LOVE the leaf fabric I used for the pocket. It was a fat quarter I bought at JoAnn’s but I haven’t been able to find it on the bolt anywhere. Too bad because I’d love some more.

P.S. Did you know they saw blow job, shaft, and member in Redbook magazine? I always thought it was more of a ‘cookie recipes and stain removal tips’ rag but apparently it’s the new Cosmo. Rawr!

2 Responses to “Wondrous Occasion”

  1. Kriss Says:

    I love your hanging wallpocket! What did you use for the strap?

    Next time I go to JoAnn’s, I can check for that fabric for you. Ours might still be on the bolt & hasn’t transferred to fat quarters yet.

    (BTW – who decided to call them “fat quarters”????? Couldn’t they have called them Sewer’s Squares, or something a little kinder?)

  2. craftapple Says:

    What a cute combo! I recognize the fabric from a book I recently bought by Betz White. She used it for a lining in a purse. Cute, cute!

Leave a Reply

