You Don’t Want to See Me Vogue

I have worshiped Madonna to varying degrees throughout my life, my obsession ebbing and flowing with her many changing personas. I think I loved Like a Prayer Madonna most of all. All the tracks rocked my socks, but Dear Jessie was my secret favorite. I was in eight grade at the time and although tapes were more popular, my brother insisted I buy records because they were better quality. I shellacked my Madonna album covers to the walls of my bedroom along with a Madonna inspiration board plastered with pics and magazine clippings.

That era was the peek of my Madonna infatuation, save brief blips here and there until her last album. I was obsessed with Confessions on a Dance Floor for months and months. Being a choir geek, I even worked out swing choir arrangements for each song in my head. Confessions… definitely belongs on my top-10 list of all-time fave dance albums. I dare you to sit still while listening to any of the tracks – double dog dare!

So as you can imagine, I’ve been super excited to hear Madonna’s newest album, Hard Candy. When I found out she was collaborating with Timbaland and Justin Timberlake for the first single, I was a little leery. I read that she wanted to infuse her new sound with a hip hop vibe. Madonna ventured into this territory with Music but managed to maintain her distinct sound. The list of talent behind Hard Candy is impressive, boasting the influence of other collaborators like Kanye West and hip hop producer extraordinaires Nate “Danja” Hills (who recently worked with Britney on Gimme More) and Pharrell, (who’s collabed with the likes of Gwen Stefani and Ludacris.) But one can’t forget the absurdity of the song I Love New York on Confessions…, which shouted from the mountain tops, “Madonna cannot rap!” And so although she’s the master of re-invention, this new Madge worried me.

I finally heard her first single, 4 Minutes, on Tuesday and have mixed feelings about it (which I’m sure Madonna is really concerned about.) Having listened to it for a few days, I’m pretty sure it will be an instant club thumper but I don’t think it’s destined to move me like Confessions… did. First of all, Madonna is WAY too cool for all that “uh” and “eh” posturing that’s pervaded today’s hip hop. Secondly, the Madonna/JT combo is a little too May/December for me – they’re just in completely different leagues. And finally, 4 Minutes is without question a Timbaland joint, laced with his trademark sound, JT beat box and all. Unforch, it’s a bit heavy handed and so 4 Minutes doesn’t feel like a Madonna song, save the “The road to hell is paved with good intentions” stanzas. I do love the oomph of the trumpet-y sounding synth, which I compared to the more severe parts of Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique. (For the record, B mocked my comparison and is therefore dead to me for the next five days.)

So, have a listen. I’d love to hear what you think!

P.S. I should mention that I wasn’t very excited about Confessions… after my first listen. And I may love the other songs on Hard Candy. And sometimes I shop at Wal-Mart because it’s cheaper, and I might be a little too invested in the outcome of Rock of Love 2. Also, I just ordered a purse from Forever 21. (Shut it!)

3 Responses to “You Don’t Want to See Me Vogue”

  1. KNH Says:

    Forever 21. Forever 21. Uh, Forever 21? Hmm. I’m not sure if I can handle it. Do you think you’re Mrs. Ex-Federline? If so, I’ll be Dr. Phil to your Brit Brit.

    I loved your retrospective on Madonn….OK, I can’t go on.

    Forever 21?

    🙂

  2. mymsie Says:

    I know it’s awful but I can’t resist the cheap accessories and I love that 70s-inspired fabric so it’s OK, right? Right? *tap tap tap* Is this thing on?

  3. Amy Says:

    I love Gimme More! I’m a regular on XM’s BPM dance channel, but lately most of it is not my style. Maybe I should check out Confessions as the album I have been waiting to love.

    Other favorites on BPM have been Satellites (September), something by Madison Avenue called Drive (or Lakeshore Drive? Not sure), some of the Scissors Sisters remakes, an awesome redo of One Night in Bangkok… I guess I like the highly produced stuff. What I don’t like is the mess of dance tunes that have TERRIBLE lyrics and are just an excuse to be played in a club because they have a beat and some sireny things. I guess they don’t have the right channel for me exactly.

Leave a Reply

