Sew Exciting

Boy, that “sew _________” joke never gets old, does it? I just finished another project and thought I’d share but first – if your name is Moxy or Lean (who together comprise 95% of my readers), please busy yourself here. Everyone else? You know what to do.

In May, Lean and Mox are taking a trip to Mexico. I want SO much to go but I’m pretty sure I’ll be moving then so I can’t swing it. Still, I thought I’d gift my girls with something to take on their trip to ensure they remember me when buying souvenirs keep all their important travel documents in order. Last week, I found this tutorial for making a sassy travel documents holder. It looked like a fun challenge, so I made one for Lean this weekend.

Inside:

Inside of Travel Documents Holder

Outside:

Outside of Travel Documents Holder

I love how forgiving my poorly-lit apartment is! You can’t see my many flubs.

This project involves using bias tape, which I hadn’t done before. Attaching it is pretty easy. Amy Karol’s tute helped a lot, but I ran into problems trying to make the corners neat and tidy. (I just found this tute, which would’ve helped tremendously. Durr!)

When I was cutting all my fabric, I got confused about which pieces should be cut out of which fabrics so if you run into this problem, I’m happy to try and help. I also got confused with the zipper instructions and ended up winging it. Zippers are still my arch nemesis, though we get on MUCH better than we used to now that I understand how to use my zipper foot.

I wanted a different closure so I used this journal cover tutorial for help making a velcro one. I really like how it turned out.

I’m excited to make another holder for Moxy using some fun fabric. I don’t want to sound cocky, but I’m hoping to add a PVC porta-potty onto hers. How handy would that be when traveling? I wonder if my sewing machine has a porta-potty foot.

7 Responses to “Sew Exciting”

  1. Kriss Says:

    I was going to ask you if that was bias tape. I’ve yet to try it, but it always finishes the edges off & makes them look so pretty.

    And you have such a great eye for fabrics!!!! Did you ever set up shop on Etsy? Because you should. Um, now.

  2. KNH Says:

    That porta-potty will be doubly convenient while in Mexico. But I beg you, don’t make me one!!

  3. Amy Says:

    I guess the “sew _____” jokes never get old. My mom’s email was andsewon@blahblah and her best friend’s email is sewitall@blahblah. I’m going on vacation with these people?

  4. KB VanHorn Says:

    Great job – it looks very professional. I love bias tape.

  5. Good&Crazy Says:

    Lately I am all about sewing bags, and little zippered pouches. I’m all over your little doc holder! And ‘Durr’, is just plain funny. I found you from comments at Moosh, BTW….

  6. Melanie Says:

    I had trouble with the binding and the zip as well. Thanks for the links to the tutes you used, I’m just off to check then now!

  7. Teresa Says:

    It looks really good! I love the fabric that you used! So sorry to get you confused about cutting fabrics as it’s my first time writing a tutorial! ^_^

Leave a Reply

