Chill

I taught a new digital photo editing workshop last night and after class one of the participants said it was “really chill.” I told him I could dig it.

I could hardly stand to be indoors today. At lunch, I went for a drive, windows down and music blarin’, because you should up your carbon emissions when it’s nice out. I made a new spring mix CD and was especially loving Phantom by Justice:

I have my calendar set up to remind me to do my taxes every year at the beginning of March. Despite that visionary foresight, I always wait until the last minute. I do my taxes online and the process is pretty simple but I still put them off. This year I misplaced one of my W2s and had to ask the HR lady for a copy, which was a little embarrassing. I mean if you can’t keep track of something like that, your salary probably shouldn’t exceed $18,000/year. Don’t tell my boss.

Tidbits

  • I want to vacation here, in Bora Bora. How amazing does this look?
    Le Meridien Bora Bora
  • This New Yorker piece about elevators is fascinating, despite its somewhat macabre air. I found it after I saw this surveillance footage of a guy who was trapped in an elevator for 41 hours. Can you imagine? He ended up quitting his job and suing the company but after years was awarded only a paltry settlement and is now unemployed. Moral of the story? Take the stairs!
  • Did you watch The Office last Thursday? I had myself so excited about it that I was kind of disappointed. Over the weekend Lean and I watched a few episodes of the British version, which were great. It has a whole different feel – very dry and not fussed, but funny nonetheless.
  • (What the hell is this post about?)
  • I read this Matt Damon quote on why he wouldn’t allow his likeness to be used in Bourne video games and I love him for it: “I lobbied hard [with the video producers] to not make a first-person shooter game but to make it more like Myst, which was a great interesting puzzle you tried to solve – you know, to play with his amnesia or his memory…They weren’t interested. They made the video anyway, without my likeness…I’d like to think that I at least made them more aware of the issues. That’s step one. Step two is changing behavior. I learned that from my mom.”
3 Responses to “Chill”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    I thought that song was Daft Punk. Shows what I know. Can you make me a mix? I think your musical taste is chill and I dig it.

  2. pofflish14 Says:

    First I would like to say that I love the name of your blog. Second…I know how you feel about taxes…well even though I don’t have any yet my parents make everyone in the house feel their rath when they do them. Third…I would love to go to Bora Bora. My dad got to go to Tahiti for work and he took a picture similar to that one. My last piece of advice is watch Grey’s Anatomy, which starts new again this coming Thursday. It NEVER disappoints me. Maybe I am just obsessed with the gorgeous guys on the show.
    Jamie

    p.s. check out my blog at
    http://myjunkisu.wordpress.com/

    http://myjunkisu.blogspot.com/

  3. thaboogiemonsta Says:

    OMG! I totally want to vacation in an over-the-water bungalow in Bora Bora and people always look at me like I’m crazy!

Leave a Reply

