When It Rains…

Friday night while having dinner with some friends, I noticed one of them was carrying a stuffed-to-the-brim briefcase. I wondered aloud what all was in there and joked that we’d probably have everything we needed in case of nuclear winter.

Leave it to me to provoke the Gods, ’cause we got slammed with one hell of a storm. I’ve seen some bad weather in my life but I’ve never seen anything like this. Unaware, my friends and I left the restaurant to head to the theatre to see Iron Man but by the time we’d gone about a block, I knew we were in trouble. The volume of rain was unreal. My wipers on full-blast were completely useless. There was 4″+ of standing water on the roads. I even hydroplaned once, which was scary as hell. Since Civics are low to the ground, I was SO afraid I was going to get stuck in one of the massive puddles. Worst of all, the wind was whipping hurricane-style, which, when combined with the rain, took my freshly-straightened locks from sleek to sproingy in no time!

I finally made it home and tried to take Abbs out but she was scared. As she’s gotten older, rain bothers her more and more but the main problem was the thunder. By herself, she wouldn’t go the 10 feet needed to tinkle, so I finally went with her. Of course I didn’t tinkle though – I just stood there and tried to look dignified.

Thankfully the weather was great for the rest of the weekend. Abby and I went for a walk yesterday afternoon and she went waaay out of the way to avoid some ducks on the sidewalk. Guess she doesn’t trust quackers. (There’s a joke in there somewhere. Bonus points for coming up with one!)

2 Responses to “When It Rains…”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    Oh man! You were outside during that madness? Glad you got home safely.

  2. Kriss Says:

    OMG, Mymsie – I got goosebumps up & down my arms after reading that article. Hydroplaning scares the bejesus out of me. Glad you got home safely!!!

Leave a Reply

