Confession

Ok, I’m going to be honest here. Occasionally after I’ve just laundered my sheets, I get lazy busy and don’t put them back on my bed right away. In the meantime, I sleep on just my mattress…but only for a few days at the most. Am I the only one guilty of this housekeeping crime? Part of the problem is that my bedroom is tiny and you have to do some complicated meandering to make the bed, including shellacking up to the wall and then shimmying through a tiny space. I have another sheet set I could use but it’s ill-fitting and not nearly as lovely as my regulars. Bottom line: I’m a lazy sod.

On Monday after a few days of Mymsie-on-mattress sleepin’, I finally put on my freshly-laundered mattress pad and sheets. As I snuggled up in my cozy nest, Abby lay on the floor beside the bed. She started chirping but I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. She got up on the bed and I gave her some love, which she responded to by hurling all over the clean sheets. And let the record show that it was a doozy! THANK GOD there were sheets on the bed. This delightful experience was all the impetus I need to never again sleep on a sheetless bed, lest the bodily function Gods curse me once more.

9 Responses to “Confession”

  1. JayDub Says:

    Guilty as charged.

    I can’t sleep on just the mattress though–it’s silky–that sateeny feel that is sticky. Just an icky feeling. So, when I don’t put the sheets on and I’m too tired to put them back on, I normally spread out my bed spread on the mattress and use the down comforter for cover..

  2. Kris Says:

    Oooohhhhhh, poor Miss Abby!!! Give her a little tummy rub from me, please.

    Before we had a clothesline, I always did the same thing. Wash the bedding, shove the clean stuff back in the laundry basket, & let it sit until I worked up the ambition to mess around with it. But now that I can hang stuff outside, I literally can’t wait to get the bed made & climb in.

    Also, we don’t use a flat sheet. Just a waterproof mattress pad (same as you – puking puppers), a fitted sheet, and the comforter.

    Question: When you put the pillowcases back on the pillows, do you turn them inside out, then grab the corners & flip them on? Or do you leave the pillowcases the right way & slide the pillows in? I do the inside out flip, & Dave thinks I’m crazy.

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    That is a good way to get your mattress infested with dust mites, or bed bugs. So that’s what that smell was.

  4. Amy Says:

    I used to do that before I lived in a house where the dog got on the bed. Not MY dog, that OTHER dog. I can’t STAND hair in the sheets (dog or otherwise) so I always have something covering the bed even when sheets are in the wash. And then they have to go right back on the bed.

    But yes, in simpler times, it was just me on the mattress pad or a blanket. I could never be straight on the bare mattress though.

    Our dogs generally eat their puke so I suppose we’d sleep on unknown puke residue…

  5. Mymsie Says:

    @Kris: I leave the pillowcase right-side out and just slide the pillow in. I can’t picture how you do it. Make a video!

  6. PastaQueen Says:

    My confession is that I don’t wash my sheets as often as I should because I’m so lazy I don’t like even taking them off the bed.

  7. Erin Says:

    PastaQueen- me too. I’d rather sleep in sheets four months old that take off the sheets, wash them, and put them back on. Gross but true.

    Kris- I do it right side out, but now I’m thinking of trying it your way. Thanks!

  8. designhermomma Says:

    um, I don’t think I could do it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally lazy, but would sleep like crap if I did that.

    I just don’t wash my sheets enough…

  9. Amelia Says:

    My husband tosses and turns and tosses and turns, and when the fitted sheet has worked its way off one of the corners on his side of the bed, it’s time to change the sheets. 🙂 And we have 3-4 sets of sheets (though only 2 unpacked since we moved) so I never have an excuse not to put sheets back on the bed. But that’s what I did in high school–I’d just roll myself up in my comforter and put a clean, but mismatched, pillowcase on my pillow.

Leave a Reply

