Bargain Diva

What is it about successfully scoring a discount using coupons that makes me feel like a freaking genius? In truth, I owe it all to Lean. She is a bargain detective who’ll stop at nothing to save. You should hear the routine she goes through to find the latest deals. Just the other day, thanks to her savings sleuthing, I got two bottles of conditioner and two bottles of shampoo for FREE. Totally free!

While I’m a sucker for a deal, I don’t usually go out of my way to clip coupons because nine times out of ten, I forget to use them and end up carrying around tons of the expired little buggers in my wallet. The only exception to this is fabric store coupons, which I use like they’re going out of style. I can’t resist a bargain that satisfies my twisted desire for stacks and stacks of lovely, delicious fabric! And speaking of, I just discovered a nearby fabric store that sells lines I can normally only get online, like Amy Butler’s and Heather Bailey’s. It’s a little embarrassing but when I went to the store for the first time, I was there for several hours. It was just such a Festivus Miracle to see all the lovely textiles I’d previously only been able to drool over virtually. The best part was that my visit came during the week of my birthday, so I got an extra 10% off everything – be still my heart!

P.S. Please note that Lean actually PAID to see Poison tonight – bwahahaha! I think she’s trying to score a spot on Rock of Love 3.

4 Responses to “Bargain Diva”

  1. Erin Says:

    Mymsie,
    Hi, I’m Erin over at Drowning in Dog Hair, but I’m also Mamadance at mamadance.blogspot.com. That’s where my real posts are, if you’re interested. Thanks for visiting my site. Now, for the comment:

    -So, fabrics, yes! What do you make?
    -Bargains? I am exactly the same as you- I keep them when I see them, but then they either stay on the front of the fridge or linger in my purse until they go bad.
    -Festivus! Totally!

    P.S. Thanks for letting me know how you found me- I never know and it’s frustrating!
    P.P.S. I don’t usually use this many exclamations in my writing!

  2. Kris Says:

    Ohhhhhhh, the pictures from the Always in Stitches website. Oh, dear God. Heaven on a bolt. I can believe you spent several hours in there – I always lose track of time (and my budget) when fabric looting.

    I try & get good coupon deals, too; but Lean sounds like a pro! I’ve always wanted to keep a spreadsheet of how much money we really save by shopping sales & clipping coupons. I bet it’s a lot. Especially when she can get free bottles of necessities, like shampoo! 🙂

  3. Amy Says:

    I’m all about the coupons too. The best is when it’s on sale at Meijer, AND I have a coupon, AND they double it, and then I get the item free or sometimes they pay me! Got whole wheat spaghetti that way a couple weeks ago. Alas, once I started eating healthier, most coupons are useless to me. The ones in the paper are always for processed stuff. I clipped ONE that will be useful today, for TP.

    Lean is awesome. We’ve used her public TV dinner discount cards all over town!! She even brought a ZooBook coupon to dinner with us one time and let us use it!

  4. Amelia Says:

    You spend hours in a fabric store…I spend hours in a bookstore. Especially a used bookstore. Toy stores are fair game, too. And cross-stitch stores, if they’re big enough. See–you’re not alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

