Words of Wisdom from Mrs. Drinkwine

Yesterday on the way home from work, I was pretty sure I was going to die. I felt TERRIBLE. I had this strange hybrid of a head/neck-ache and felt so nauseous, I was certain I’d hurl at the next stop light.  By the time I made it home, I felt so bad I literally staggered inside. In a blur, I took Abbs out, texted Lean to remind her to scatter my ashes at Emerald Isle, and collapsed into bed. When I woke up at 9:30 p.m., I felt 1000% better. I’m not sure what came over me but it had a staggeringly-high suck factor.

Unforch, since I napped, my sleep was a little sketchy last night. I woke up around 3 a.m. feeling very anxious. Poorod works nights so as I often do when I can’t sleep, I texted him to say hello. He did a stand-up job of entertaining me until my eyelids were impossibly heavy. Right as I drifted off, I heard my phone beep one final time. This morning I found out that was Barack texting me to let me know who he selected as his running mate. Wasn’t it sweet of him to personally contact me?

This morning, I’m up bright and early to keystroke some materials. Lean thinks it’s funny when I use that word, “keystroke,” but that’s what we say in the IT training world. Anytime there are updates to the materials we use to teach classes, somebody has to go through them and make sure all of the keystrokes and directions are correct.

Lean also thinks it’s funny when I refer to the School of Journalism at IU, which I graduated from, as “the J school.” But that’s what we called it! She’s just “blowing out my candle to make hers burn brighter,” which is what my eighth grade teacher Mrs. Drinkwine would say anytime someone said something mean. So there!

5 Responses to “Words of Wisdom from Mrs. Drinkwine”

  1. Amy Says:

    That name reminds me of my homeroom teacher, Mrs. Butterworth, which is a hilarious name on its own. Anyway Mrs. Butterworth was a drunk at school and was encouraged to take an “early retirement” so she’d quit being a danger to us! She even drove me home once… whoops.

  2. Mymsie Says:

    Her name was really Mrs. Butterworth??? God, that’s SO unfortunate. 🙂

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    If I had a teacher named Mrs. Butterworth, I would want pancakes all the time.

  4. Amy Says:

    Yeah, I always thought about pancakes too. Yes, that was really her name.

  5. Amelia Says:

    Maybe Mrs. Butterworth drank to escape her awful name?

Leave a Reply

