Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig

When my plane touched down Wednesday evening, I nearly wept with delight. I’ve never been so excited to return to Indiana soil. While waiting at a red light on the way home from the airport, a delightful fella tooted his horn and motioned for me to roll down my window. He grinned and asked me where I’d gotten my Obama car magnet. Then later at Target, the cashier saw the Obama button on my purse and said, “Go Obama!” Those interactions were in stark contrast to my experience in South Florida, where people lay on the horn if there is even a chance you might irritate them. It’s awful – no gentility! I truly missed the Midwest’s sensible version of southern hospitality. I also missed several episodes of The Hills.

I’ve been on campus for most of the afternoon trying to finish some editing I agreed to do before I knew the last 2 weeks would be spent in such an emotionally taxing situation. As such, I’ve been unable to accomplish a damn thing today except for catching up on my favorite blogs and having deep IM conversations like this one:

B: OMG (Don’t be alarmed, that’s how he starts every conversation.)

B: I slept for 12 hours

B: I just woke up an hour ago

B: hold me

Me: 12 hours – wow! courtesy of any pharmaceuticals?

B: just 500 mg of heroine

5 Responses to “Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    Indiana is a brighter place with you back in it. And go Obama!

  2. Dallas Says:

    Aww, I see I’m not alone in my B’ton addiction.

  3. happy zombie Says:

    Indiana sounds a lot like Oregon… and I bet if you use your turn signal people slow down and let you in… and smile on top of it! Best part about Oregon… lots and lots of Obama signs and bumper-stickers. :o) Love that you’re sporting my bama-bling on your blog! Whoo whoo!

  4. westwardbound Says:

    Aren’t heroines exhausting? (Har.)

    Glad you’re back safely.

  5. Amelia Says:

    Glad you’re home safe. Hope your dad’s doing better.

Leave a Reply

