Soup Is Good Food

Why did Panera have to ruin a perfectly delightful soup with the addition of my personal nemesis: high fructose corn syrup? It’s just that some days, I don’t have time to make a healthy lunch. Produce needs to be sliced and diced people, and there always seems to be at least one day during the work week when it’s all I can do to get my ass into the office before noon, much less prepare a protein- and whole grain-packed lunch. Luckily there’s a Panera very close to my office. I recently discovered that I love their creamy tomato soup. To assuage my guilt for not eating quinoa muffins chased with wheat grass shots, I looked online to confirm the nutritive benefits of the soup. It didn’t take long for the evil HFCS in the ingredient list to burst my bubble. It’s scary how many of the things we eat, things we wouldn’t normally associate with sweetness, contain HFCS. Curses!

I listen to Morning Edition about three mornings a week, but the other days I have to listen to music or a more-innocuous radio show because the glut of bad news really gets to me. One day this week I tuned into Z99.5 and heard that one of the DJ’s Moms has cancer. She lives in WI but tons of concerned Indianapolis listeners came together for a Cancer Sucks party and raised thousands of dollars to help her with all the medical costs. Isn’t that wonderful?

I’ve been feeling extra crafty lately and now have too many different projects brewing. I long for the space to have an entire room dedicated to crafts and sewing. Something tells me now’s probably not a good time to buy a house though. I’m thinking a yurt is more my speed. Anybody willing to overlook a teepee in their back yard?

10 Responses to “Soup Is Good Food”

  1. Amelia Says:

    There is no good canned tomato soup on the market without HFCS, either. Seriously, we’ve bought every single one *without* crap in it, and they all sucked. :-\

    Have you seen the creepy pro-HFCS commercials?

  2. lydia Says:

    So those corn syrup commercials haven’t won you over yet?

    Also, funny you say it’s not a good time to buy a house… I’ve been thinking that if you can afford a payment and have good credit, it’s probably an AWESOME time to buy a house because they’re so damn cheap!! Of course, I don’t know a whole lot about this sort of thing, so don’t take that as advice. Just saying… perceptions… they’re funny like that. 🙂

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    I prefer low fructose corn syrup.

  4. Kris Says:

    I hear ya on the HFCS. We tried to change the baby’s formula a few weeks ago, and the top ingredient in the new stuff was high fructose corn syrup. At 2-1/2 weeks old, they’re already trying to pump that crap into his little system.

  5. KNH Says:

    Please educate me on the evils of HFCS. I keep hearing snippets but haven’t bothered to google it.

  6. PastaQueen Says:

    I agree with Lydia, if you know you’re going to stay in the same place for a while, right now is an EXCELLENT time to buy a house. It’s a buyer’s market. You’ll never get a better price. Of course, once you buy, you’re not going to be able to sell for awhile without breaking even or losing money.

  7. Amy Says:

    Yeah, great time to buy, but only if you think you’ll still be able to work here in the next few years! I’m in the unfortunate seller position and will probably sell it for the same price I paid six years ago, and I’m considering myself lucky. Of course take out realtor fees and all that crap and there goes my down pmt and equity… hooray for breaking even!! I hope.

  8. Amy Says:

    Oh, forgot that I wanted to mention a movie called King Corn I want to see. It’s supposed to be about how corn is embedded in every damn part of American life, like your HFCS. I need to figure out how to get a copy of that!

  9. Bumpster Says:

    I think they should use high fructose maple syrup in everything. Anytime you eat, it would be just like breakfast no matter what time of the day it is.

    I have no problem with corn, but they need to stop using it for fuel and driving up the prices on everything. Corn ethanol is a much less efficient fuel than cellulosic ethanol and produces more greenhouse gases anyway.

  10. latebloomerlog Says:

    Holy crapola, HFCS is the evil evil of evils. And it is totally in EVERYTHING! I now make my own bread, pasta sauce, smoothies, yogurt, crackers, curries, soups, etc. because it’s the only way I’ve found to be able to avoid it. Ugh-o-rama.

    (I do love me some Panera, though, so I hear you on that one.)

Leave a Reply

