I’m So Vain, I Probably Think This Post Is About Me

Scar

I am many things, but vain is not an adjective I’d typically use to describe myself. Still lately I’ve found myself obsessing about the newly-acquired scar smack dab in the middle of my forehead. <Obama>Look</Obama>, I know my rinky-dink battle wound pales in comparison to say, a terminal illness or having to watch the director’s cut of Gigli, but it’s disturbing all the same. I didn’t realize it but I’d grown accustomed to my mug lo these 32 years and now I feel like a newly-branded heifer.

I paid a fortune for what will undoubtedly turn out to be Vaseline in a tube labeled “Scar Gel” but haven’t noticed any dramatic changes yet. I also made an appointment with a dermatologist to see what can be done or if I should just be thankful for the limitless opportunities I’ll have to be an extra in Star Trek movies.

On the bleaker side of things, skin cancer runs in my family and I’ve had many bad sunburns (including one that’s post-worthy – stay tuned), so the last dermatologist I saw recommended I get checked every 6 months. That legitimate concern has helped me feel less ridiculous about the fuss I’m making over what could probably pass as a beauty mark.

All this has gotten me thinking about my brother, who has several rather significant scars, including one on his neck from breaking through the windshield in a car crash when he was 2-years-old. My parents gave him the option to have plastic surgery when he got older, but he never wanted to and they of course expressed their love and acceptance regardless. A few years ago, he was bitten by a dog and now bears the scar from that horror as well. None of these scars have ever seemed to bother him too much. I don’t really know what my point is other than to say I’ve been blessed in the scars department and should therefore be ashamed of my vanity. Also, YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL, NO MATTER WHAT THEY SAY!

P.S. I can’t believe the WordPress server didn’t crash from the strain of the whopping SIXTEEN (16) votes cast in my first poll. (Dooce probably thinks her 700+ comment post is a big deal – HA!) The consensus seemed to be to post more, so I’m going to make a concerted effort to do so, taking care not to post for the sake of posting. No, you won’t find boring drivel on this blog, nor will your eyes strain over long-winded postscripts, which, like The Bridge to Nowhere, go, um, nowhere. Ahem.

4 Responses to “I’m So Vain, I Probably Think This Post Is About Me”

  1. Kris Says:

    I covet your hair. And your dimples.

    Do you use mineral makeup? I have a really bad blemish scar on my cheek, and it hides it pretty well.

    With that being said, though, I don’t think your scar is that noticeable in the unedited photos. Why are we always so horribly self-conscious?????

  2. Riley & Tiki's Mom Says:

    I used plain old cheap vitamin E cream after a surgery and it worked way better than the scar gel stuff that I bought.

  3. PastaQueen Says:

    I hear ya’. I have a little scar right above the left side of my lip from a bad pimple or whitehead or miniature alien civilization or something. It’s starting to fade a little, but it’s still weird to see it there and I’m too lazy for makeup.

  4. westwardbound Says:

    My kid had a wicked gash under his eye that has turned into a teensy scar after 6 months…we used the Mederma scar goup religiously for 2 months after it closed up. Of course children have magical skin, but I think the stuff does help.

Leave a Reply

