Let’s Get This Party Started

It’s here, it’s here, it’s finally here!! I thought election day would never come and now that it’s arrived, I can’t wait for it to be over and done. I’m trying not to check FiveThirtyEight.com obsessively or pay too much attention to exit polls but the suspense is killing me. And while I’m so grateful to have been alive during this unprecedented time in history, I’m also ready for a winner to be named already so we can move forward with the business of enacting mandatory afternoon nap legislation and honoring Inappropriate Fridays, during which you may say, do, and wear inappropriate things without consequence.

This morning, I stopped at McDonald’s to get a bagel. Alright, alright. A bagel with bacon. (But at least I didn’t get any of their sweet tea, which is basically LIQUID CRACK and have I mentioned that I’ve been completely off sugar for over a month, which OHMYGOD, I still can’t believe but that’s a topic for another time.) The cashier asked me if I’d voted and told me she wasn’t registered before matter-of-factly prophesying that Obama would be assassinated. In truth, that’s been a fear of mine, especially given our country’s past in those murky waters but HEY, I don’t recall asking for a side of GLOOM & DOOM with my bagel, thankyouverymuch.

Guess what? Some stinky bastard scraped my car and didn’t leave a note! Worst of all, it happened at work, which means I might very well be mingling with the scumbag on a daily basis. The damage isn’t all that bad but it irritates me on principle because my poor little hoopty has already been through so much. The first year I had it, I suscepted it to a number of calamities, including but not limited to hitting a deer and a good and proper rear-ending by some goober in a yellow Mustang. Then on Saturday when I had an oil change, I found out I need new tires and P.S. the ones for the new Civics are between SIX AND SEVEN HUNDRED DOLLARS. Yowsa! (What is with me and run-ons today?)

Ooo, I forgot to mention that one of my supervisors sent me the sweetest message regarding that evil woman who’s been leaving me nasty comments. She was supportive and affirming and I felt very blessed. Amen.

3 Responses to “Let’s Get This Party Started”

  1. Marta Says:

    YES WE CAN! And aren’t you even in a blue state? How nice. My precinct went for Obama, but sadly, neither my county nor my state followed suit. Hooray for President-Elect Obama!

  2. SweetBasta Says:

    Indiana went blue! First time since 1964. w00t!

  3. Matthew Says:

    Did you actually say “good and proper rear-ending?” Has this turned into a different kind of blog???

Leave a Reply

