Some Things Jumbling About In My Brain

Warning: This is going to be one of those posts that’s all over the place. In fact, I think I’ll just use bullets and forgo any semblance of coherent sentences organized into thoughtful paragraphs.

  • Did you catch The Office last night? I missed it (for reasons I will soon explain) but I just watched it online and one scene in particular was HILARIOUS. It’s utterly juvenile and simple-minded and I loved every minute of it!
  • I have a painful bump on my gums and made the mistake of Googling to diagnose the problem. Oh God, if it turns out to be some of the awful things I found, I’d rather be taken to a field and destroyed than endure the horror.
  • You know how they say, you are what you eat? I suppose the same is true of your friends. Not that you eat them but that you’re a lot like them. And if that’s the case, this picture I took of my friends last Friday at brunch is probably a good barometer of my mental health:

    Crazy friends

  • Last night I did A Smart. You see, when I teach in the evenings, Abby’s generous Aunties (Lean & Moxy) often take her outside since I don’t get home until late. Lean tried to take Abbs out last night but couldn’t get into my apartment. The reason is because the Todd Oldham proteges running my apartment complex arbitrarily decided to take out the gold doorknobs and locks and replace them with brushed silver ones. We were warned but I didn’t realize it was happening so soon, so I didn’t bring the new key they gave me and of course Lean didn’t have one either. After a long night in a DreamBeaver workshop, this was the last thing I wanted to deal with. I called my apartment complex’s emergency number and a rude man snapped, “You were instructed to put the new key on your key chain immediately.” I wanted to say, “Well you’ve been instructed to KISS MY ASS” but I decided that wouldn’t be a relationship-enhancing behavior. After a short wait, a nice fellow let me in and told me I was one of three idiots who’d been unable to handle the simple transition. Oops.
  • If you feel blue, you should watch these buns eating some naners and then you’ll feel better:
  • Tonight Mox and I are seeing Rachel Getting Married and I’m very excited. When I first heard about Anne Hathaway playing a chain-smoking, foul-mouthed black sheep, I cringed. After all, this is the same girl who starred in some Disney flick about princesses. But the more I’ve read about the movie, the more impressed I’ve been. I think she might actually be a good actress! I’ll report back with my findings:
  • I love edamame but recently discovered I’m not a big fan of soy nuts.
  • A few months ago, I fell in love with a picture I found while browsing Flickr. I asked the photographer if I could buy a print from her but a million roadblocks have gotten in her way. She finally decided to send me a high-res version to print on my own, which I thought was so kind. And look at this picture – isn’t it lovely?

    Love

    P.S. If you’re bored, you can check out my other Flickr faves here.

  • I’m getting really excited for the holidays, especially for the crafts I want to make. I plan to try to make all of my Christmas pressies this year in an effort to eschew The Man and his money-grubbing ways. That’s all well and good but I may end up plowing over other desperate shoppers on Christmas Eve as I scramble for the last It Item at Kohl’s. Stay tuned.
4 Responses to “Some Things Jumbling About In My Brain”

  1. SweetBasta Says:

    I checked out your flicker faves. I noticed a trend of many bunny pictures and things made of fabric. Have you considered making a fabric bunny shaped Obama purse yet? You should totally do it! Except that with the creation of it your brain would probably overload thinking that you have accomplished the greatest feat possible and you would shut down and have to be fed through a tube.

    Wow, that friend of yours with the Colts shirt on is one good lookin fella!

  2. Kris Says:

    I love that the bunnies are eating from the good china!

  3. Amelia Says:

    Edamame=good. Soy nuts=bad. Soy nuts are for hardcore health food nuts.

  4. Amy Says:

    Ah, but have you tried chocolate covered soy nuts?? Trader J’s!!

    Too much banana for those buns… but then if people are keeping them outside anyway, they probably don’t care if they get poopybutt. /off soapbox (sorry, been a ranty day)

Leave a Reply

