Pssst

Wanna know a secret about me? I get nervous for hair cuts. Weird – I KNOW, but I had one scheduled yesterday afternoon and felt icky enough to actually consider rescheduling the appointment. It’s silly but the thought of someone paying their full attention to me for the duration of a hair cut makes me feel achingly self-conscious. Like I can’t possibly bear such scrutiny. Please, let’s talk about movies or the Super Bowl or the faltering pound…anything except me or my hair. The strange part is that I’m a relatively gregarious blabbermouth but for some reason, the circumstances involved in getting my hair did make me want to clam up and curl into the fetal position.

Now it’s your turn. Do you have a secret?

P.S. I got a smattering of bangs. I also got $50+ worth of products I don’t really need.

Me with bangs
Seventies glow courtesy of Pioneer Woman Action Set 2

6 Responses to “Pssst”

  1. lydia Says:

    Well, it appears you were rewarded for your bravery… looks lovely! 🙂

    Today my secret is that I parked in the lot reserved for patients and visitors at the hospital where I work… see, I take the bus to work every day, so I don’t have parking here, and when I have to drive, well, I have little choice but to break the rules!!! Shhh, don’t tell!

    (And no worries, there are plenty of spots for the people the lot is intended for!)

  2. SweetBasta Says:

    I don’t like to talk on the phone. I have no problem standing in front of large crowds and talking, or with meeting people face to face. Once I am talking on the phone it is fine, there is just that anxiety in making the call.

    Ok, the pioneer woman glow makes you look like a jaundiced Laura Ingles, from Little House on the Crying Prairie. What was the deal with all of them crying on that show. I thought they were supposed to be pioneers, full of spit and vinegar. Where id “spit and vinegar” come from anyway? Is there any reason to mix the two?

    Another secret, I sometimes ramble.

  3. Amy Says:

    I watched Little House on the Prairie on super late night TV recently and a Girls Gone Wild commercial came on. That can’t be right.

    I hate hair stylist attention too! Maybe that’s why I delayed doing something about it for so long. It’s good to take a friend along and talk as a threesome instead! Or just go to Fantastic Sam’s where they ignore you as they yell at each other and talk on the phone the whole time instead.

  4. Kriss Says:

    LOVE the bangs! Your hair always looks so healthy & pretty.

    LMAO @ Amy & Fantastic Sam’s. That’s so true!

    My secret? I’m secretly fascinated and equally horrified by the mother of the octuplets.

  5. westwardbound Says:

    It’s not the chit-chat that bugs me as much as being forced to stare at your own reflection for so long. What am I, 13 again? I’ve pretty much learned that I still don’t look like Linda Evangelista so I don’t need to scrutinize every pore for that long any more. Ya know?

    Looking good, lady.

  6. Worth Your Attention Says:

    I agree with westwardbound about the forced reflection gazing. My stylist just remodeled and said she needed brighter lights for around the mirror and I said, “noooooooooooo, I like it dark.”

Leave a Reply

