WaW

Streetbeater by Quincy Jones (Sanford & Son theme)

What a Weekend. It’s only 10:30 a.m. and I’ve been at LePeep for several hours, waiting while my car is detailed. It was looking rough after months of neglect and then moving. I swear every time I settled in for a drive, I could hear the Sanford & Son theme song in the distance.

I’m antsy to leave but it has been nice to nurse a cup of coffee and people-watch. My mind is a’swirl with ground-breaking observations like, “Hey, that waiter looks like Harry Potter.”

As soon as I wrote that paragraph, I got a call that my car was finished. It was so shiny and beautiful and the weather was so sunny and perfect, for the first time in months instead of the Sanford & Son theme song, I heard Life is a Highway so I called the girls to see if they wanted to go for a drive. I wasn’t going to let yesterday’s traffic ticket incident dampen my spirits. I got nailed for turning right on red (after a complete stop and no cars in sight) at an intersection where you’re apparently not supposed to between certain hours on certain days of the week with Qs in their names or a vernal equinox. (For Indy folks, 82nd and Allisonville). The best part is that the sign posting this arcane law is parallel to the road you’re on so you can’t see the damn thing without doing a reverse hecht and finishing with a solid 9.5-dismount. Thank You, police officer Bunghole, for protecting our fine city from heinous crime!

Life is a Highway by Tom Cochrane

3 Responses to “WaW”

  1. lydia Says:

    Once I was making a u-turn and got rear ended. Turns out it was my fault because it was 6:15pm and Saturday and I failed to notice the sign said “No U-Turns between 6pm-8pm on Saturdays.” I was pissed.

  2. Amy Says:

    D has an old red truck and frequently plays that song as he drives.

    And there’s a guy at work who looks like Harry Potter!

  3. SweetBasta Says:

    Mymsie Floofenheimer hardened criminal.

Leave a Reply

