He Squoshed My Baby Bumble Bee

In addition to my Web work, I also design marketing e-mails we send to customers. I love this part of my job – my boss gives me a theme or a message he wants to get across, and I get to run with it and be creative. We’re on the cusp of summer so he wanted me to plug summer-y products in our latest e-mail. I thought about summer, a way to tie it to the type of products we sell, and came up with this headline:

Find out what all the BUZZ is about!

…and this graphic:

Bee

My boss was very diplomatic but said he thought it was too cutesy for our customers. Can you believe that? How could you not love that adorable little bugger? I mean COME ON. I couldn’t stand the thought of my poor li’l bee never seeing the light of day, so I thought I’d share him with you. Buzz on, stingy friend!

P.S. I don’t want to shove causes down your throat but I’m a staunch advocate of National Public Radio. If you’re in the Indy listening area and are a fan too, now’s a great time to pledge. My favorite programs are This American Life, Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me!, Fresh Air, and despite my economically-challenged mind, Marketplace. Even if you miss them on the radio, you can always listen to podcasts, which have helped me get through many-a-monotonous task.

7 Responses to “He Squoshed My Baby Bumble Bee”

  1. SweetBasta Says:

    Use your cute little bee friend for your banner here on your blog, then create an aggresive looking one and replace his stripes with red/white/and blue stripes, that would be more fitting with your customers, or just give your bee an automatic weapon.

    I agree with you on public radio. I listen to This American Life Podcast every week. The guy that used to do This I Believe, is going to be doing a storytelling podcast/show based on the MOTH out of NY. That should be cool.

    Maybe you could change it to “Hey Honey! What’s the Buzz . . . None of your Beeswax!”

    I think your boss just didn’t like that your bee would have no chance of flying because the wings are much to small. It’s Physics baby!

  2. SweetBasta Says:

    That was stinging commentary wasn’t it?

  3. Ern Says:

    Adorable graphic! I just might have to steal the design for Sam’s first cake. Hmmm. I guess that supports the too cutesy comment, but what’s wrong with cute. 🙂

  4. lydia Says:

    Love the bee! And I have a cassette tape with me singing that song (about squishing the bumble bee). I was about 8. It is hilarious and if I knew how to get something from a tape to a digital file I’d totally post it. 🙂

    Also, thanks for the NPR plug. Every time I’m in the car, I remind myself to remember to go online and pledge, and then when I’m in front of the computer I forget! Going to pledge my local station now. 🙂

  5. tmc Says:

    Awww… I like your bumbly bee! I like that he doesn’t have fuzzy bee legs because fuzzy bee legs are kind of creepy. 🙂

  6. westwardbound Says:

    We have pledged/are members. I love the “Whole Foods” interview they’re playing. Cracks me up every time.

    We are going to Pitter’s “Spring Program” tonight at daycare where he will SING the bumblebee song with his cohorts. Somehow I never heard this song as a kid and it now kind of disturbs me. The point is to teach them to wash their hands (I think?) but I think it makes holding bumblbees and squishing them into a game. NOT GOOD, folks. Do YOU want to take the stinger out of my kid’s palm? Do you?

    /end rant about children’s songs

    Your bee is cute and I am certain he would never sting my kid.

  7. Amy Says:

    We also have a cassette from the 80s of my little cousin singing this song. And I frequently get it stuck in my head, so thanks!!

Leave a Reply

