Glee

Did y’all happen to see Glee last night? It’s a new show on Fox about a fledgling high school show choir and I triple-chocolate-dip LOVED it! A friend and I have a similar idea for a movie screenplay with a Christopher Guest feel, both of us having been unabashed choir geeks in high school. We’ve jotted down a few ideas but watching Glee made me want to get on the stick. It also made me realize that although writing is my passion, early on I somehow concluded I probably couldn’t make a living doing it. Isn’t that sad? I enjoy my Web work but it doesn’t make my skirt fly up in the way subway grates and writing do. I want to put more effort into my writing goals. I’d hate to turn 40 and realize I was so jaded, I didn’t even try. (You can watch the first episode of Glee online here. I thought it was very well written and it turns out the show’s creator is from Indy!)

In other news, my new mattress and box springs were recently delivered and they combined with my sassy bed set seal my status as a proper adult who makes discretionary purchases in lieu of, say, snatching a neighbor’s discarded ottoman and repurposing it as a kitchen sink/bidet. I slept on my mattress last night for the first time and it may seem like a simple pleasure but it felt luxurious and wonderful. The only downside is that the bed is too high for Abby to jump up on now that she’s a senior pup. (If I think about that for too long, I want to curl into the fetal position and bawl for 3 weeks straight.) I tried to help her up onto the bed but she just got nervous and jumpy. I finally gave up and she paced and chirped but still wouldn’t let me help her. Poor bippy. Luckily I’ve found the perfect solution, which isn’t exactly Jonathan Adler-chic but is utilitarian and easily folds flat for stashing under the bed. Next up, I’ll be working on a slew of DIY projects to complete my bedroom’s transformation from Grey Gardens to peaceful sanctuary. (Speaking of, did anyone see that HBO movie starring Drew Barrymore and Jessica Lange? I read about the story, which is peculiar and fascinating. I don’t have HBO and I’m sticking to lighthearted entertainment these days but I am curious to hear what people thought of the movie.)

3 Responses to “Glee”

  1. Amy Says:

    I think my brother could be in your show. He was a choir geek too and also did the sensible theater minor with something more marketable on top. Me… I just don’t get it and that show would probably drive me nuts! But I love Christopher Guest movies. Maybe we should have a Best in Show night at Nicole’s theater since I don’t think she or David have seen it yet.

    I bought the nice mattress a couple years ago but still don’t own a proper bed. Now I can’t buy furniture anyway because it insults the carpenter in the house who doesn’t have time to build any for us as it is!

  2. Amy Says:

    Also: Casper has official arthritis now! I don’t want my dog to get old!

  3. Kriss Says:

    Poor Abby. I was going to tell you about those steps – I’m so glad you found them. Give her a snoozle from me & the pups.

    And I looooove your new bed!

Leave a Reply

