Parasitic Bullet Dodged

I’ve had the heebie jeebies for the last 24 hours. Thankfully after a doctor’s appointment this afternoon, my worst fears were allayed. My friends and I rented cabins in northern Indiana last weekend. We had a ball splashing in a nearby lake and irritating the locals. By Monday, I was exhausted from all the fun and took the day off work. I ended up hanging with Moxy at her pool, which sits in front of a picturesque lake. Monday evening, I discovered 10+ mosquito bites on the tops of each foot. Comforted only by what my Dad used to tell me when I was little (“You got so many bug bites because you’re so sweet!”), I nearly scratched myself to death. I tried several over-the-counter remedies all to no avail. Yesterday someone saw the little red bumps on my feet and suggested they weren’t bug bites. I immediately went into panic mode, remembering my friends’ horror stories about getting scabies from the sand during spring break. Naturally, a Google search (trust me, you don’t want to look) only heightened my panic. I steadied myself and made a doctor’s appointment for this afternoon. All morning I mulled over how I’d become the poster child for scabies awareness, assuring anyone who’d listen that I wasn’t dirty or promiscuous. Luckily the doctor took a thorough look at my feet and solemnly informed me I just had some nasty bug bites. PHEW!!

To avoid anymore outdoorsy debacles, Moxy and I are headed to Chicago this weekend to attend a sexy party and visit IKEA, where I plan to buy a sewing table. I’ve never been to an IKEA before and it’s shameful how excited I am. Plants, fabric, Swedish meatballs, and furniture with names like Ektop Blorp and Sven Gablooten! Stay tuned for a riveting post spending frenzy debriefing.

5 Responses to “Parasitic Bullet Dodged”

  1. tesslouise Says:

    Ikea rocks. We’ve gotten so many good deals there. A dresser/changing table for baby, cheap sheets and pillowcases, our mattress and boxspring, baby’s crib mattress, baby towels, cork trivets, cheap wineglasses, a big fluffy pillow so I can read in bed, and on and on.

  2. Amy Says:

    We’re going next weekend! To the city, anyway. I’ve never been to IKEA either but I doubt I can get D to go. Any other ideas on stuff to see?

  3. westwardbound Says:

    What color bra and panties set will you wear to Ikea?

    Oh wait. The sexy party is an entirely separate thing.

  4. Kriss Says:

    Must not click the link. Must not click the link. Must not click the link.

    I didn’t realize Ikea sold fabric. Did you find your table & add some items to your stash?

  5. Notes from the Planet Immaturia « Distracted by Something Shiny Says:

    […] from the Planet Immaturia By mymsie Mother nature is once again punishing me for my impudent hedonism. Oh yes readers, she’s a mischievous minx with a […]

Leave a Reply

