Hot Fun in the Summertime

Sunburned legs

This picture illustrates 2 important things:

  1. I just got new Mary Janes for a steal, and
  2. My legs aren’t immune to sunburn.

I had last Friday off so Moxy and I spent the entire day lazing by the pool, eavesdropping on conversations, and earnestly discussing important topics like how cold the water was. Imagine my surprise Friday evening when I found that my legs were fried. Usually they barely get any sun, so I’m not sure what made this time different, other than the fact that I shaved my legs a few hours before I went to the pool. Is that too much information? At least I’m not telling you about my boils. KIDDING! But speaking of, I overhead this conversation yesterday at the doctor’s office:

Patient: Is Dr. X in?

Receptionist: No, she’s out for the day.

Patient: Oh OK. I just wanted to fill her in about the latest with my boil.

Wow. Just, WOW.

After the pool, we napped, had sushi, and then saw Away We Go, which was absolutely delightful! Although I didn’t think it possible, I love John Krasinski even more than before. After his pitiful performance in Leatherheads, I assumed he didn’t have much range but the great writing and Sam Mendes’ directorial stylings really made him shine. Maya Rudolph played his character’s sarky, pregnant girlfriend. I would never have pegged her for a role like that but she was luminous. Maggie Gyllenhaal had a cameo as a nutbar, new age Mom and she was hilarious. And finally the music was lovely, each song perfectly matched to its visual counterpart. Alexi Murdoch sings most of the songs on the soundtrack and sounds A LOT like Nick Drake so if you’re a fan, you’ll undoubtedly love him. I’ll stop gushing now but just for the hell of it, let’s listen to Pink Moon by Nick Drake. I haven’t heard it in awhile and it always sucks me in.

4 Responses to “Hot Fun in the Summertime”

  1. Uncle Vinny Says:

    I’m so glad you liked Away We Go! I adored it, and I’m trying to get everyone to go see it, too.

  2. westwardbound Says:

    Yowee. Those legs, baby.

    I think I’m taking myself to see Away We Go on Friday. Yippee.

  3. Amelia Says:

    Yay for Mary Janes! Where did you find them? But boo for sunburn.

  4. Kriss Says:

    OUCH your legs look so sore. I hope the burn has faded & you can tolerate anything touching your skin.

    I hadn’t heard of Away We Go – it looks fantastic. I’ve adored Maggie Gyllenhaal since first watching her in Secretary.

Leave a Reply

