Allow Me a Moment

Can I get something out of the way?

To dating Web site user “bra_clasp” β†’ STOP WINKING AT ME! Your username precludes you from enjoying even the tiniest bit of communication with me.

And to the guy with the great profile, who’s married to the ubiquitous wife who doesn’t understand him but won’t leave her and just wants some action on the side? β†’ STOP WINKING AT ME!

All other boys? Please resume winking. πŸ˜‰

Onto other matters. Guess what I scored? Free passes for my friends and I to see an advanced screening of Julie & Julia tonight! If you haven’t seen the preview, take a look now. It looks adorbs and with talent like Meryl Streep and Amy Adams, promises to be fantastic.

Despite the fact that my freelance Flash project is due Friday, I’m going to the movie tonight because I’ve been working like a pack mule and I need a break. Twelve-hour days are hell but my spirits were buoyed this morning when my client told me this project could lead to an incredible job opportunity. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

A lady in an apartment near mine has a big lug of a bulldog who seems harmless but is a bit of a pest. He’s really too strong for her to handle him. Earlier this week after a lot of tugging, she dropped his leash and he went after Abby like a prisoner on a conjugal visit. Abby, of course, was cool as a cucumber and simply retreated into the apartment but not before that beast growled ferociously and tried to hump her. I, of course, screamed and panicked, worried he’d bite poor Abbs. His owner just stood there with her mouth open while her dog followed Abby into my apartment. After some shooing (me) and grumbling (him), I managed to grab his leash and return him to his lucky owner. Abby peaked her head outside my apartment and peered around like, “Is the coast clear?” I feel bad for the bulldog’s owner because she seems frail and perhaps better suited to a Chihuahua or Teacup Maltese. But I don’t think she’ll be trading him in anytime soon because his wrinkly mug is plastered on her car, along with the name of her business, for which he’s apparently the mascot. Looks like I need to stock up on bacon to keep him happy.

Aaaaaaand I just made a new playlist, punctuated with some great songs by rockin’ female artists I recently discovered. I’m particularly smitten with Help, I’m Alive by Metric and Oscar Wilde by Company of Thieves. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Allow Me a Moment”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    Oh come on. Don’t be such a spoilsport–help that guy get a little something on the side! Live a little! ;P

    I read a great article about Julie/Julia in Vanity Fair last week. (Airplane reading–not my usual magazine…) Hope it’s great!

    I will check out the playlist shortly!!

    Exclamation Point Comment Shall Now End!!

  2. lydia Says:

    I love that Metric song, too! Thanks for the playlist, always love when you do a new one.

    Also, do tell how you like Julie & Julia. Looks fab!

  3. PastaQueen Says:

    So, how was the movie? Is it worth seeing with my mom?

  4. SweetBasta Says:

    What if the users names were: “Panty_line”, “pad_wing”, “donkey_pit”, “my_humps” or “bee_hurlin”?
    Would any of those be allowed to wink at you?

  5. SweetBasta Says:

    My friend “cup_stuffin” wanted me to ask.

  6. Notes from the Planet Immaturia « Distracted by Something Shiny Says:

    […] well know, I’ve intrepidly dipped my toe in the murky waters of Internet dating. Despite the glut of duds, I had my first date on Saturday. We e-mailed and talked for a few weeks and though […]

Leave a Reply

