“Preserve Your Memories; They’re All That’s Left You”

Oh Internets, I had one of those weekends. You know the type. Once it’s all over, you look around groggily and ask, “What the eff just happened?” I was all prepared to have a rip-roaring time but on Friday evening, happened to come across a piece of paper Dan had written on. I guess it’s silly but MAN that really messed me up. I was a wreck, completely overwhelmed again with the terrible weight of knowing he died alone and so world-weary, bereft of hope. Sadness that profound feels bottomless and it scares the hell out of me. I’m fine most of the time but occasionally, like this weekend, feel completely breathless and paralyzed at the thought of what happened. How can it be? How can this paper still be here when he’s not?

There’s really no better way to proceed than by sharing a tasty recipe I tried recently. For the season 3 premiere of Mad Men, I had the girls over for gimlets, which I inadvertently made WAY too strong (hic) and some snackables in the form of blue corn chips and a version of this corn & avocado salsa. I strayed from the ingredient list, based on laziness and what I had on hand. In the end it looked something like this:

  • Cut the kernels off 2 ears of corn
  • Dice 1 avocado and toss in the juice of 1 lemon
  • Chop 3-4 green onions (I use kitchen shears for easy snipping)
  • Dice 1-2 tablespoons of cilantro
  • Dice 1/2 jalapeno very fine
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Toss everything together and leave it in the fridge for at least an hour for the flavors to mingle.

Easy and YUM!

3 Responses to ““Preserve Your Memories; They’re All That’s Left You””

  1. Kriss Says:

    Ooohhh the corn & avocado salsa recipe looks delish! Did the original have tomatoes in it, by chance? (My parents gew tomatoes this year, and have about 12,314 of them. Must… Find… Recipes…)

    Again, I’m so sorry about Dan. Have you gone to the cemetary to see him since his passing? It might help you somehow, to talk to him again.

    Big hugs to help get you through the darkness.

  2. Karen L. Dolley Says:

    New reader, first time poster.

    You may not remember me. I worked around the corner from you in OPA at IDEM. Anyhow, hang in there. As bad luck would have it I lost a good friend to a drunk driver a week after your friend passed on. I understand how things can make you well up with tears even after “all this time.” Happened to me last week leaving work after a tough trial and wanting to call him and hear his sardonic ripping of complete strangers in a way that always cheered me up.

    You will get through this.Just remember that emotions are neither good nor bad. You feel what you feel and how you react is what makes things good or bad. If you need to take a weekend to recover from troubles that’s what youneed to do. Now if it turns into weeks and months you might want to go get help. But feeling sad is what you need to do and trying to do otherwise will hurt you.

    And remember you have friends to support you either with a shoulder to cry on or a sock puppet show…whatever it takes.

    I miss your crazy laughter around here, and someone to keep Raymond in line. Geez!

  3. lara lewis Says:

    i stumbled upon this blog (using the search “garden terms that start with x,” go figure) and love it. you have a wonderful writing style and i chuckled out loud (col?) thanks for brightening my morning! 🙂
    ~lara

Leave a Reply

