Stellaaaaa!

I’ve spent the last few days lurching around like an arthritic robot. I managed to sleep in the perfect position one night to completely kink up my neck. I was in especially desperate pain at work when a coworker covertly slipped me a tiny package labeled The Pain Terminator. I’ve been watching Seinfeld DVDs lately, so I instantly thought of the episode when Elaine hurt her back and took too many muscle relaxers:

Fortunately, I checked the fine print on The Pain Terminator package and found it was merely acetaminophen but imagining Arnold Schwarzenegger’s brawn behind an over-the-counter pain killer gave me the oomph I needed to get through the day.

In other news, I am completely mesmerized by Lady Gaga’s latest video. It’s so bizarre and intriguing, I can’t stop watching:

Imagine when they story-boarded it. “Ok, so do we want the man in the metal beard to catch fire before or after the spastic dancers clad in white pleather body suits with rooster combs come out of the pods?” It is refreshing for a pop star to be unique and creative and a great singer/song-writer.

And finally, I have a bit of bad news to share and a request for help. Moxy’s dating a sweet new boy (hi Pete!) whose family has been through hell the last few weeks. Pete’s brother Gabe was walking the dog one night when he was robbed at gun point. After the robbers ran away, Gabe did too and they shot him, leaving him paralyzed from the waist down. (Full story here.) All for $20. Isn’t it awful? I still can’t wrap my mind around such a tragedy. Gabe and his wife have a new baby and are now saddled with the costs of physical therapy and fitting their home so Gabe can get around in his wheelchair. If you could find it in your heart to donate even a few bucks to their cause, I know they’d be so grateful. When terrible things like this happen, it’s a reminder how much we need one another. Please give!

7 Responses to “Stellaaaaa!”

  1. westwardbound Says:

    I rarely get to see the news so I missed the Gabe story. How horrific. From just one perspective, I can’t imagine being the wife to a newly-paralyzed husband with a seven-month old baby. Brings me to tears.

  2. westwardbound Says:

    Ok. Just watched the Ga Ga video. The ending is just….wtf?

  3. Kris Says:

    The Gabe story broke my heart.

    I’m gonna make a confession. I don’t “get” Lady Gaga. She’s just so out there and over-the-top with everything she does. I think she’s extermely talented; but her whole strange persona turns me off of her music.

    • mymsie Says:

      @Kris: Her music was a mere irritation in my periphery until I heard this song and saw the video. You never know what will pique your interest! Maybe it’s the freaky doe eyes?

  4. JayDubs Says:

    Do you have an update on Gabe? I searched Indy Channel and got worn out by pages of sports injury listing…snore….

  5. mdeboard1 Says:

    Yeah crazy video but ultimately this amounts to disco music. My kid (six y.o.) and afterward will see this and just wonder how they can get the drugs we were all on.

  6. almostphony Says:

    Man, I didn’t care about Gaga at all until I saw her VMA performance of Paparazzi. I was like, WHAAATT, this girl is totally crazy, a performance artist! I agree, it is so refreshing to have a personality like her in the spotlight. She’s not an empty-headed pawn like Britney. Bring it on, Gaga. Paparazzi is still my fav video of hers. So far.

    That story about Gabe is just terrible. Is there an update?

Leave a Reply

