2009 MymBOs

Sorry this is late. (I should put that on my business cards, huh?)

The 2009 Mymbos

(Nothing can be properly commemorated without a tacky animated GIF, right?)

For the last month or so, I’ve read lots of best-of lists, some for 2009 and some for the decade. That got me thinking about what things from 2009 I’d give props to and an idea was born → the first annual MymBOs: Mymsie’s Best of 2009! Please note that no company has been foolish enough to pay me to plug their product. No, these are just a few things I encountered over the year that I liked and want to tell you about. Enjoy and feel free to share your faves in the comments.

Best Album: Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Phoenix - Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Anyone who knows me knows it’s difficult for me to play favorites where music is concerned. It’s such a big part of my life, I’m always listening and searching for new goodies but kept coming back to this album all year. And a telltale sign I really like an album is when it leads me to explore a band’s earlier music, which Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix did. I first heard Lisztomania in the spring and as the months progressed, heard more and more songs I liked. Once I bought the album, I was hooked. The deeper you dig, the more gems you’ll find with great lyrics, made all the more impressive because the artists are non-native English speakers. (Note: Check out some incredible live performances here.)

Best TV Show: Mad Men

Mad Men

Frequent readers probably already know how much I love this show but I wanted to mention it just in case you missed the fanfare. Observing that period in history with the benefit of hindsight is fascinating. You’ll be entranced by the wardrobe and set design, which are crafted with careful attention to detail. I still can’t forget the Draper’s to-die-for headboard or the cigarette dispenser in Don’s office (can’t find a pic!). When when you least expect it, you’ll be astounded by the writing, with its labyrinth intricacies and thoughtful commentary. And the eye candy? It’s almost overwhelming! I often have to take a powder halfway through my viewings. In fact ever since I started watching, a great deal of my fantasies involve me in Christina Hendricks’ wardrobe while Jon Hamm and Vincent Kartheiser fight over who gets to feed me grapes and give me massages. Hubba!

Best Text Message

This is a toughie, because there have been many gems but I have to go with this exchange between me and my friend Brian, who lives in Chicago:

  • Me: Did u watch Iron Chef: Battle Garbanzo Beans? Taped it 4 u just n case.
  • B: Nope.
  • Me: Thnx 4 sincere reply 2 obviously insincere question.
  • B: I am on the golf course. Be lucky I deigned repose.
  • Me: Repose means rest dumbass. I hope u shart ur plaid golf pants.
  • B: …or a typo. Shut your whore mouth.

Can you feel the love?!

Best Unscripted Use of TWSS, aka That’s What She Said

This exchange occurred while I blubbered over a smelly boy and Moxy talked me through it:

  • Me: I want my nose to unstuff because I don’t want him to think I’ve been crying over him even though I have
  • Moxy: i can appreciate that!
  • Me: Ok, so I’ll text him and say ‘can we talk?’
  • Moxy: goood. yes, yes.
  • Me: should I do it now or wait until my nose is cleared? :))
  • Moxy: lol
  • Moxy: now
  • Moxy: just blow it alot
  • Moxy: TWSS!!!!!!!!!!!

Best Moisturizer: Palmer’s Moisturizing Gel Oil

Palmer's Moisturizing Gel Oil

This stuff is like manna for my parched hands. I couldn’t use it on my face because I have an oily complexion but it’s great on my legs after shaving or added to a hot bath. (Note: Soon after I got my bottle, it cracked and started leaking. Luckily I noticed and was able to pour the remnants into a travel bottle. Beware!)

Best Shampoo and Conditioner: Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curls & Waves

Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curls & Waves

I used to loyally pay lots of money for salon shampoo and conditioner but now go with drugstore brands and spend a little more on my styling products. This stuff smells great and my curls love it. (Note: I lather up only my scalp with shampoo and after I’ve rinsed, saturate only my ends with conditioner. This works perfectly for me because my scalp tends to be oily and my ends are dry.)

Best Styling Products: Aveda Phomollient Styling Foam and Bumble & Bumble Curl Conscious Defining Creme

Aveda Phomollient Styling Foam Bumble & Bumble Curl Conscious Defining Creme

These work perfectly in tandem to tame my tendrils. The foam is great for hold and definition and the creme keeps my locks soft and touchable. After a shower, I towel dry my hair, flip my head upside down, scrunch styling foam into my ends, flip my head right-side up, and scrunch the curl creme all over. (Notes: I’m not a big fan of the way the styling foam smells but my other hair products pick up the slack. Also don’t be too heavy-handed with the creme because it’s thick and rich.)

Best Soap: Dove Go Fresh Burst Beauty Bar with Nectarine and White Ginger Scent

Dove Go Fresh Burst Beauty Bar with Nectarine and White Ginger Scent

I may be one of the few bar soap holdouts but I still much prefer it to body wash. This brand smells great and is moisturizing but not too heavy or harsh on my skin, which tends to be sensitive. (Note: I also tried the grapefruit and lemongrass variety but the exfoliating beads in it irritated my apparently picky dermis.)

Best Bubble Bath: Ulta Berrylicious Shower Smoothie

Ulta Berrylicious Shower Smoothie

You may have noticed that smell is an important component of my beauty regimen and bubble bath is no exception. The perfume in the air when I run a hot bath with this is intoxicating. It creates a thick, luxurious lather that’s unmatched in other bubble baths I’ve tried. It’s also a great bargain and lasts forever.

Best Lotion: Victoria’s Secret Hand & Body Cream

Victoria's Secret Pure Seduction Hand & Body Cream

I’ve used different varieties of VS goodies since high school and am as smitten as ever. The lotion isn’t moisturizing enough for me but the hand & body cream works well and smells divine. I always get compliments when I wear it. I’ve been rotating between these three: Secret Crush, Pure Seduction, and Sweet Daydream and though the names are a bit redonk, the smell will knock you off your feet and lure your prey into a sycophantic trance. Rawr!! (Note: I don’t want to get too salacious but if you lather up after a hot bath while your skin is still warm and flushed, you can pretty much expect that anyone within a 5-mile radius will be completely unable to resist you.)

Best Lip Balm: The Giving Earth Strawberries and Cream

I got this on a whim one day when I was checking out at Border’s and have used it pretty much every day since. It’s rich but smooth and has a fabulous juicy scent.

Best Bev: Fuze Slenderize

Fuze Slenderize Strawberry Melon

I’ve mentioned this before, which may seem silly but it’s been my salvation this year. I quit sugar about a year ago and since then have been on and off for months at a time. The only thing I’ve maintained is absolutely no sugary soda for more than a year. That may not seem like a big deal to some but I used to drink it everyday, so I’m pretty chuffed. (Notes: Be careful because some varieties of Fuze are loaded with sugar. And I know that in some respects, artificial sweetener is bad for you too but it’s not the demon I’m battling right now. I’m convinced some people react differently to sugar than others, and not just psychology but biologically and metabolically.)

Honorable mentions: Diet Cherry Dr. Pepper, Tangerine Strawberry Crystal Light, and Dr. Brown’s Diet Black Cherry Soda

Best Savory Snack: Fresh Market Okra Chips

Fresh Market Okra Chips
Image courtesy of The Blissful Glutton

You can take the girl out of the south but you can’t take the south out of the girl! These are a little spency but totally worth it. They’re crunchy and delicious and hit the spot when I might normally reach for something carby/fatty/salty. Fresh Market has tons of other yummy-sounding veggie chips I want to try too.

Best Sweet Snack: Russell Stover Sugar-Free Toffee Squares

Russell Stover Sugar-Free Toffee Squares

When I do want something sweet, I nosh one of these puppies to sate my cravings. They’re satisfying and you’d never guess they’re sugar-free.

7 Responses to “2009 MymBOs”

  1. Amy Says:

    I would SO watch Iron Chef: Garbanzos!

  2. westwardbound Says:

    I could watch your little marquee all day.

  3. sandy Says:

    haven’t read in a while – and now i’m back – but your tag cloud is gone! how ever will i get my fill of tasty tags like “vittles”?

  4. Kris Says:

    Have you tried the Russel Stover sugar free turtles yet? I can’t tell the difference between sugar free & regular ones. Also, diet cherry Dr Pepper rocks my little world, too.

    I bet you smell better than Oprah! 🙂

  5. A-frame Says:

    Xo, Toots. Thanx for all the curl-related MymBOs. I grow tired of slinging dough for salon products but then I get paralyzed in the hair product aisle at Target. Talk soon?

  6. Amelia Says:

    Do tell where you found that bubble bath, it looks scrumptious. (Why yes, I am trapped on the couch under a sleeping baby, reading old, old blog entries.)

Leave a Reply

