Surely This Will Win a Prize for Dragging Out the Recounting of Utterly Forgettable Events

I believe the equine euphemism for how I feel right now is “rode hard and put away wet.” It all started early Saturday morning as I headed home after an evening o’ fun and yummy grilled mahi-mahi. I must preface my tale of woe with the acknowledgment that the maintenance folk at my apartment complex usually keep the sidewalks scraped and salted during the winter. Unfortunately we’ve gotten a lot of snow lately so the walkway to my apartment was especially treacherous.

I have a LONG history of klutziness, which I might expound on another time for your amusement but for now, suffice it to say, I can barely manage walking on flat, dry surfaces without busting my ass LET ALONE traipsing through the Midwestern leg of the Iditarod. In truth as a Southerner is wont to do, I’m may be leaning toward the superlative in my description of the slick sidewalk but I fall so often that exaggerating the conditions is the only way I can maintain even a scrap of pride.

As you probably guessed, despite being very careful, wearing shoes with tread, and boiling eye of newt by the light of a full moon, I biffed it and landed hard on my knee, followed by mooning those with the misfortune of traveling down northeast Allisonville Road around 12:30 in the morning.

And because just recently I was bragging to Moxy and Lean about how I never get sick, I woke up Sunday morning with an evil sinus cooty. My throat hurts, my ears and nose are stuffed up, and my head is pounding to the beat of We Will Rock You. That combined with the road rash and bruises on my poor knee meant I spent most of the weekend hobbling around my apartment and thrashing from side to side in bed, trying to get my sinuses to at least clog evenly on the left and right sides of my perturbed face.

Because I never get sick (haha), I am woefully unprepared for the phlegmular onslaught that’s besieged my sinuses. I’m assisting a CSS class tonight and two kind souls had mercy on me, one offering Tylenol and another offering a cough drop, both like manna for my beleaguered bod.

P.S. I don’t get why some people think bloggers are self-involved? 😉 I know my problems are pretty paltry in the grand scheme but if a girl can’t complain on her blog, where can she? Thanks for indulging me!

3 Responses to “Surely This Will Win a Prize for Dragging Out the Recounting of Utterly Forgettable Events”

  1. tmc Says:

    You poor thing!

  2. westwardbound Says:

    If you can’t bitch and moan when you’re sick on your blog, what IS the point? Also, it seems like everyone with a blog is sick right now. Cause and effect? Hmmmm. Must ruminate through my headache.

  3. Kris Says:

    It’s your bloggie, and you should cry if you want to.

    Feel better soon, and good God woman, get some rest! Sounds like you & Abby need to make it a weekend of snuggling while watching bad TV.

Leave a Reply

