Mish-Mash

  • After my last post, I was all chuffed about how I seemed to be in a good groove of posting more often and now here it is April 5th and I haven’t posted since. Me FTW!
  • Some people are surprised by my interest in the NCAA championship run but it’s pretty hard to grow up in North Carolina and not get the fever this time of year. I think all kids from the south are micro-chipped and coerced into fandom via satellite. Of course this year is especially exciting because Butler made it to the final dance. It was a tough call but a few years ago when IU played UNC in the Final Four I decided my IU alumnae status trumps my ties to North Carolina. For Butler, I’ve painted my nails blue and learned a cheer: B-U, T-L-E, R-you a bulldog? HELL YEAH!
  • In other local news, I only just figured out that Indy is called Naptown because of the “nap” in Indianapolis.
  • I love how I can buy kalamata olives and leave them in the fridge for weeks and weeks but when I finally open that deli container and have one, it still tastes SO good I’m instantly transported to that unassuming little restaurant right on the Adriatic in Opatija.
  • You know what annoys me? When people back into parking spots. I mean what is this, The Dukes of Hazzard? Do you really need to get out of your spot so quickly when you leave? And you know that the time it takes to back in is at least equal to the time it takes to back out, so you’re not thwarting Father Time or anything?
6 Responses to “Mish-Mash”

  1. pickles & dimes Says:

    My husband backs into parking spots every chance he can get. Drives me NUTS. Although this weekend, he made me back into a parking spot when we went to a Twins game and when I questioned why, he answered, “Because it’s easier to back into the spot now when the lot is empty than to try to back out when the lot is full and people are waiting to leave.” So that made sense, I guess.

  2. westwardbound Says:

    Two other interesting bits about parking that way: 1. In the Middle East, everyone does it so they can make a quick getaway if a bomb goes off nearby, etc. 2. Sometimes you just have a preschooler in the back seat SCREAMING at you to do it that way.

  3. tmc Says:

    that same Naptown thing happened to me! I’m glad I’m not the only one.

  4. Maxine Dangerous Says:

    I still hate people who back into spaces. It’s far less about them, I realize as I’m typing this, and much more about my sense of urgency and DON’T YOU REALIZE I HAVE SOMEWHERE TO BE, which I’m probably in a twist about because I’m already late. I’m probably also mad because the few times I’ve tried it, I tend to mess it up so bad it looks like I was drunk AND blindfolded while trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

