*yawn*

I woke up at 4:30 this morning, thrashed about for a few minutes, and finally acknowledged that I couldn’t go back to sleep. I’m so unaccustomed to being sentient at such an early hour, I hadn’t the faintest idea of how to be productive so I ended up taking a bath, reading, and catching up on my Google Reader feeds. I’m afraid to say what I’m about to say but I’m going to say it because it’s been happening long enough that it seems like a legitimate thing. And that is that ever since I switched to a vegetarian diet* about a month ago, I’ve felt less lethargic and require much less sleep to feel rested. Now part of my problem has been that I’m anemic, have low vitamin D levels, and my thyroid is out of whack (all of which I’m working on fixing with meds) but it is unavoidable that I’ve had more energy since I cut meat from my diet. It could be a fluke thing but it’s interesting to note and spurs me on when I’m craving something beefy.

This looks to be a busy week but after careful inspection of my calendar, it will be a leeeetle less busy than I originally thought. I happened to notice an appointment on my calendar to teach a Fireworks class at 1 a.m. on Wednesday. I’m not sure how that appointment got there but after checking the master schedule to be certain my employer hadn’t started a workshop series for insomniacs, I’ve confirmed that I am in fact not teaching a Fireworks class at 1 a.m. Wednesday morning and will therefore probably be sleeping instead. Phew!

*For the time being I’m occasionally eating seafood, which I guess technically makes me a pescetarian. Eventually I plan to eschew all animal flesh but during this initial adjustment period, am making this concession SO PLEASE DON’T JUDGE ME OR I WILL CRY!

5 Responses to “*yawn*”

  1. SweetBasta Says:

    What about eggs and dairy? You aren’t going Vegan are you? Does that mean no more King David’s? How bout the Weber Grill? I even know some people that call themselves vegetarians, but they eat fish and chicken. Doesn’t that just mean they don’t eat mammals? As Jim Gaffigan says “I Love Animals: Nice to pet, better to chew”, “Do you know what they do to those chickens . . . No but it’s delicious!”

    • mymsie Says:

      Egg-cellent questions! Get it? “Egg”-cellent? Ok, moving on.

      Yes, I am eating dairy and eggs. I would like to be vegan one day, but I don’t see that happening any time soon, even though I do worry about how egg-laying chickens and dairy animals are treated. Baby steps.

      I never really have eaten very much red meat but I do miss chicken. I’m sure King David’s and Weber Grill have yummy veggie choices and if they don’t, I will bring some tofu on a leash and ask them to cook it up for me, after insisting they recite One Fish, Two Fish by Dr. Suess. That seems reasonable, doesn’t it?

  2. westwardbound Says:

    I don’t eat red meat, so I’m one of those non-mammal people. And mostly my protein comes from nuts, dairy, and fish. Maybe you have more energy because meat takes longer/more energy to digest?

    Donno. I can’t speak much for energy levels since mine are all over the place with small children…

  3. Amy Says:

    A few years into it, I think my energy is more due to amount of sleep and exercise, but darn it, I’m regular! I know you wanted to hear all about that.

    Check out the Boca burgers substituted into any burger at Red Robin. Yummy when you want a big old cheeseburger! And Denny’s even has a big old Boca to sub in too.

    For good old Chinese food, I found the crappy place in Linwood Square has bean curd options–for that missing texture. I imagine other places do too.

    Congrats and good luck!

  4. Amelia Says:

    For what it’s worth a small amount of animal protein in one’s diet can be beneficial. So you could keep the seafood for health reasons. 🙂 Have you read Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle? You might like it. We were already buying local meat/milk/eggs and the book reinforced our commitment to buying food from humanely-raised animals.

Leave a Reply

