“Eyes Like Potatoes”

Last night at water aerobics, I heard a blast from the past, La Isla Bonita, on the radio. It reminded me that when I was younger, I thought the lyrics “A young girl with eyes like the desert” (:36) were instead “A young girl with eyes like potatoes.” It never made sense to me but it didn’t matter because I loved Madonna and if she wanted to sing about tubers, by God she could.

The class was fun and I was soooo happy to be back in the water. Next time I’m bringing my goggles so I can swim laps. I have two pair and strangely enough, B & I used them recently for a very juvenile non-water prank. Unfortunately, we couldn’t keep our composure and pretty much ruined the joke, except for the hilarity involved with us wearing goggles at a restaurant.

This afternoon over IM, I tried to teach my Dad how to type a tilde (~). My instructions were so confusing, I nearly peed my pants from laughing. Finally he just said, “I had better stick with my more limited keys.” Ha!

2 Responses to ““Eyes Like Potatoes””

  1. Chi Says:

    I still remember the story about your dad getting stuck typing in italics, about how he was ‘caught in this slant!’ 😀

    I’m totally with you with the potatoes lyric. I sang the song that way and burst out laughing. 😀

  2. westwardbound Says:

    What do eyes “like the desert” look like anyway? Yellow? Makes about as much sense as potatoes if you ask me. Ha.

    I love that you do water aerobics. I just hope you have a better instructor than me when I was a 16-yr-old lifeguard who got stuck subbing from time to time. I totally made shit up.

Leave a Reply

