For Sabbath

Day 4 of SchloMoBlowHole is the perfect time for me to own up to something → I fail at unpacking. In fact the luggage from my recent trip to Chicago is currently strewn across my bed, along with one lingering bag from my trip to MOwhich was back in September. It’s just seemed easier to select clothing from my luggage instead of the tremendously laborious task of transferring the clothes back to my closet. Such are the mysterious of the gelatinous blob that is my psyche.

Lean’s birthday was last week so I made her a special pressie. A few months ago, her dear sweet cat Sabbath died. He was the alpha of her then 4-kitty litter, a quiet but steadfast ruler with a level head and lustrous black fur. The loss was especially difficult because Sabbath was the first kitty she ever had the pleasure of serving. Our critters are very important to us so I wanted to make her something to remember him buy and tried my hand at some simple appliqué:

Gift for Lean

The E is crooked and I should’ve used darker thread on the cat but Lean loved my masterpiece’s “hand-did” aesthetic, which put a smile on my face. We miss you Sabbers!

2 Responses to “For Sabbath”

  1. Matthew Says:

    I nearly cried when I saw this. How sweet. I’m trying to find V. a commemorative Christmas tree ornament of a black kitty.

    Let’s recall how scared V. was when she got Kitty (aka Sabbath). She was afraid her mothering skills were inadequate for a new furry friend. Low and behold. . .4 kitties later. . . .turns out they aren’t. Funny.

  2. Amy Says:

    awww, how sweet!

Leave a Reply

