Facebook FAIL

I’ve just narrowly survived my first big Facebook gaffe, complete with the requisite mortification and self-loathing. When you get right down to it, it’s clearly Aaron Sorkin’s fault. He had to write such a brilliant screenplay*, which lured me in from the first preview. Even before I saw any previews, I heard that Trent Reznor wrote the music for The Social Network and being a big fan of his, was very excited to hear what he came up with. (For the record (haha), the songs he wrote are INCREDIBLE. I had chills throughout the entire film. You can download the whole album for just a few bucks at Amazon.)

The first trailer I saw was set to Kanye West’s latest single, Power, which totally blew my mind and seriously spoke to the film’s themes:

It was classic Kanye: anthemic, packed with meaning, confessional but unapologetic. I immediately downloaded the MP3 and waited anxiously for his whole album to be released.

Then I saw a second trailer, which had an amazing choral arrangement of Radiohead’s Creep floating in the background:

Being a life-long choir geek, this sent me over the edge. I told B about it and we both became obsessed with the song and other music by the same choir, Scala & Kolacny Brothers. A few weeks ago, B told me the choir was performing in Chicago. He had 2 other friends, J & G, who wanted to go as well so the minute the tickets went on sale, I secured 4 of them for us. I was so excited, I immediately went on Facebook and announced that I’d just gotten tickets and tagged everyone who was attending. A few minutes later, I got an anxious text from B asking me to untag his friends post-haste because one was taking the other as a surprise for his birthday. Ooops. I felt awful, especially since I’ve met his friends and they’re adorable and sweet. I immediately deleted my post. I know that Facebook e-mails you when you’re tagged in a post but I wonder if they rescind the e-mail when that post is deleted. I hope so. B said J & G hardly ever use Facebook and hadn’t heard from either so I’m hoping I haven’t ruined the surprise.

Have you made any faux pas on Facebook? Please tell me you have so I don’t feel like such a dolt.

*Sometime over cocktails, let’s discuss the more pertinent issue, whether or not the story Sorkin told is true. I did a lot of research after seeing the movie twice and pretty much concluded that while it’s fascinating and packed with meaty, enthralling dialog, Sorkin attributed a lot of sentiment and motivation to Mark Zuckerberg that’s simply not accurate. However it’s perhaps inadvertently germane in that it’s a movie about Facebook, this new, incredible tool that often misshapes our views of people.

2 Responses to “Facebook FAIL”

  1. tmc Says:

    Yikes! Thankfully I can’t think of any major FB faux pas I’ve stumbled into. That just means it’s coming…

  2. Kris Says:

    You make me really happy I’m not on Facebook. I think I’d do stuff like this alllll the time.

    Case in point? When I worked with my Dad, I was forever mixing up the hold button & the speakerphone button on the phone. I once told him that “Shelly Belly” was on the phone, which was met with “WHAT DID YOU JUST CALL ME?????” from the base on my desk.

    So yeah, not just you.

Leave a Reply

