2010 MymBOs

Most sensible people released their best-of 2010 lists at the end of 2010 or the very beginning of 2011. But as you’ve probably become accustomed, we don’t do things in a timely manner around here…and by “we,” I mean me and my staff of me. So without further, even more ridiculous adieu, I give you the 2010 MymBOs (Mymsie’s Best Of.)

2010 MymBOs

Best Album: The Black Keys – Brothers

This was an incredible year for music, making it difficult for me to pick a fave but if forced, I have to go with the Brothers album by The Black Keys. It’s impressive and full of funk – not bad for two white boys from Akron, OH. Spin penned my favorite description of the album, dubbing it “a dark, swampy, R&B-inspired stomper.” YES.

Honorable Mentions

  • Broken Bells – Broken Bells
  • LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening
  • Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More
  • Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Best TV Show: Lost

The much-anticipated culmination of this 6-season epic wasn’t exactly what I thought it would be, but the series still blew my mind. I could watch it over and over again, reveling in its boatload of allusions, complicated metaphors, and serious eye candy. (Note: I’m out of the good-TV-show loop, so I’m certain there are lots of other awesome contenders.)

Best Movie: The Kids Are All Right

I loved everything about this movie from the brilliant screenplay, which was packed with complex emotions and authentic dialog, to the spot-on casting (Mark Ruffalo? Yes please!) The movie opens the door for all kinds of discussions and I love how even the title leaves room for speculation.

Best Styling Products: Moroccan Oil, Bed Head Foxy Curls

I’m always on the prowl for reliable hair products to keep my waves under control and in 2010, added 2 to my lineup. Moroccan Oil is decadent and rich, with an incredibly heady, romantic smell. Just a dab helps ward off split ends and makes you smell so wonderful, you’ll be forced to travel with bodyguards to protect you from rogue sniffings. There’s also shampoo and conditioner, which I’m dying to try. For staying power, I like Bed Head Foxy Curls. If I use too much, I get crunchy 80s hair but when I lightly scrunch it throughout my mane, my waves stay put all day.

Best Face Soap: Help Please!

My skin is very temperamental. Just when I think I’ve pinpointed it as oily, I get dry patches here and there. I used Proactiv for years and was very happy with it until last year. It didn’t seem to be working anymore, especially in curbing my inevitable hormonal monthly breakouts. Also Proactiv bleaches out towels and the necks of my shirts. I cannot tell you how many towels I’ve ruined over the years, but it only affects some colored ones, not all. SO weird and frustrating! Once it stopped working, I figured I could just buy bleach if I wanted to ruin towels and shirts. Since then, I’ve been fruitlessly searching for an alternative so if something works for you, I’d love to hear about it. Now that I’m older, I’d like something to help with dark spots and wrinkle-prevention in addition to keeping breakouts under control. I’ve heard good things about Olay Professional Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System and am thinking of trying it. Any advice?

Best Lip Balm: eos

Even though I don’t normally wear makeup, I love watching Michelle Phan’s makeup how-to videos. They’re sort of mesmerizing. I noticed that she used a particular lip balm, which I found at the drugstore one day. It’s called eos (Evolution of Smooth) and in addition to working really well, comes in the coolest sphere applicator. When I first put some on while hanging out with B, he insisted I’d only gotten it for the attention it would elicit. After poking him with a thorny stick, I informed him that it looks neato but more importantly, works like a dream, giving me soft, smooth smackers.

Best Vittles: LÄRABARs

These are my favorite discovery of 2010 but for the life of me, I can’t remember what prompted me to try them. They are delicious, healthy gems with only a few, whole, protein-dense ingredients. For example, one of my favorite flavors, Peanut Butter Cookie’s ingredient list is:

  • Peanuts
  • Dates
  • Salt

That’s it – so simple! But the flavor is complex – chewy, filling, and YUM, in addition to being gluten- and soy-free, vegan (small caveat here), raw, and additive- and preservative-free. In the last year, I’ve tried to learn a lot about what my body needs and what it responds well to and LÄRABARs are perfect for me. They’re my go-to breakfast and keep me fueled all morning. They are a tad spency but worth every penny, especially when you factor in long-term health costs.

For the Swimmers

I realize this category is fairly narrow but my picks have made lap-swimming much more enjoyable so I thought I’d share.

Best After-Swim Shampoo: Aveda Sun Care Hair & Body Cleanser, Suave Kids’s 2-in-1 Swim & Sport

If you’re in a position to drop some dough, Aveda’s Sun Care Hair &  Body Cleanser works like a dream, stripping the nasty chlorine from your hair and leaving behind a lovely aroma of orange creamsicles. If you need ‘poo on the cheap, I’ve found that Suave Kid’s 2-in-1 Swim & Sport does the job as well.

Best Goggles: Speedo Flite

Swimming with leaky, fogged up goggles sucks but my Speedo Flite goggles are problem free. They never leak or cloud over. I’m careful to rinse them well after each swim because apparently chlorine residue can hinder their performance. One bummer is the strap, which has the oddest clasp that totally confounds me. (Note: I’m easily flummoxed.) Luckily the out-of-the-package setting fits my big head perfectly, so I haven’t needed to make any adjustments.

3 Responses to “2010 MymBOs”

  1. Chi Says:

    Where did you get the Moroccan Oil and the eos? I’d like to try those. Feel free to hit me up on email or chat so I don’t end up hijacking your comment section. 😀

  2. Kris Says:

    I still miss Lost, too. We watch V on Tuesday nights, but that’s really about it.

    Have you tried the Moroccan Oil styling cream, or just the oil? TIGI stopped making Mastermind, & I’m on the hunt for something new to stop my hair from becoming fuzz.

    For face soap, I’ve had good luck with Phisoderm. I also tried one of those Clarisonic face brushes, & it didn’t make one bit of difference. So not worth the $200 price tag.

    And YES to eos!

Leave a Reply

