Whoa

You guys? It’s been over three months! Ridiculous, I know. (That shit cray.) The thing is, this big thing was happening in my life but I’m hoping to write about it primarily on another blog so I wasn’t sure what to share here even though it’s a huge, life-changing thing that gave me plenty to discuss. And now it’s been so long since I’ve written that I feel weird and disconnected from my voice and my 2 readers. And every day that goes by, I fret more and feel more stalled. But now as is plainly obvious, I’m writing (!) and can focus on revving this mother back up again!

First off, the big thing. → At the beginning of December, I had bariatric surgery. The whole process started over 2 years ago and girrrl, I have A LOT to say about it. That said, I don’t want to write a Magna Carta-length post so for now, I’ll give you the gist which is that the month after surgery was pure HELL. I’m a worrier so I had spent quite a lot of time pondering the possible outcomes but what I ended up experiencing was nothing like what I worry-planned for. First, I got a terrible infection and part of my lung collapsed. Then the meds they gave me to treat the infection killed the remaining good bacteria in my shrinking gut so I was sick as a dog. I was so sick, in fact, that I couldn’t take in any nutrients for weeks and so my body went into ketosis, which is a starvation mode/nausea/death spiral.

Can I just stop here and say, wow, I already feel better having just written that little bit. I missed this!! (((HUGS THE INTERWEBS)))

Anyway I’m just this week starting to feel somewhat normal again, although my baseline has changed a lot. In addition to protein shakes, I eat 6 ounces of “food” a day in 3 two-ounce portions. Along with walking, I’ve started swimming again except last night when I got to the pool, I realized I’d brought TWO (2) swimsuit tops and ZERO (0) swimsuit bottoms. OOPS! All in all, I’m beginning to settle into a new groove and hope to be blogging more frequently. Yay!

One Response to “Whoa”

  1. Kris Says:

    AAAAHHHHHHH!!!! MYMSIE!!!!!!!!! I’m so so so happy you posted an update – but sweet jeebus, can you not just get a break for once?? I can’t believe you’ve had 2 bad surgery experiences, back to flipping back. 😦

    Which WLS did you have done? I’m guessing it wasn’t the lap band, only because of the severity of your infection. Man, sweetie, I’m so sorry this has been such a tough road for you.

    Sending you giant, gentle hugs, my friend. It’s going to get so much better for you; and come summer when you’re rocking the little shorts & cute tank tops, this will all seem but a tiny little hiccup in the road.

    How’s Abby coping with Momma being sick? I had my gallbladder out right before Thanksgiving, & Lulu knew something was going on. We had her put down last week, though. Long story – she was choking almost every day & couldn’t catch her breath, so we decided to let her go. At 11, she lived a long life for a big old St Bernard; but it was still really, really hard.

    Are you able to work at all? I can’t even imagine what you must have been going through. Again, I really do hope you’re well on your way to recovery & things go smooth from this day forward.

    oooxoooxooo

Leave a Reply

