Got Milk?

After bariatric surgery, you have to be extra careful you’re getting enough vitamins and minerals since you’re eating so much less and the way your body absorbs nutrients has completely changed. Trying to meet those needs has been especially difficult for me because I’m not a good pill taker – I gag and make a fuss. In addition to taking calcium pills, my doctor wants me to drink 3 cups of milk a day. I’ve never been a milk drinker but have found a combo I can tolerate (1% milk + sugar-free Hershey’s syrup.) To mix things up, I’ve been trying other non-dairy milks but haven’t found one I like. I’ve tried unsweetened almond milk & unsweetened coconut milk, both of which I like cooked in foods but not straight up. Next up, I’m going to give soy a whirl.

Moxy & I went to a free screening of Rock of Ages last night. It was cheesy in some parts but so well done. The music was an absolute blast. I was especially impressed with Tom Cruise. Who knew he could sing? He apparently turns 50 this summer and looks DAMN good for having been around for half a century.

And while we’re on the subject of celebs, can we take a moment to discuss Alec Baldwin’s fiance’s name? It’s Hilaria. How can he proceed with this union?? He’s funny. Really funny! And his wife-to-be is called Hilaria. COME ON! 😉

And here’s the latest from Instagram. Fun, striped Mary Janes I got at Urban Outfitters:
Mary Janes

A beautiful sunset I caught on a recent walk
Indiana Sunset

New-to-me – cute mini ‘nanas, which make the perfect snack:
Mini Bananas

A sweet, vintage crewel I thrifted for only $1.50:
Crewel

Sweet Abbs likes to hang out by the tub while I take baths:
Abby

One Response to “Got Milk?”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Since you like antiques and stuff, you may want to try out the Country Living Fair in Columbus,OH. This years is Sept 14, 15, 16 or whatever that weekend is. If you go for just Sat & Sun, it’s cheaper to pay for all 3 days in advance than pay day by day. I went last year with my cousin and had a blast. I hope to go again this year. There are demonstrations, mini concerts, new stuff, old stuff, and lots of cool old buildings to look at in Ohio Village.
    Give it a whirl.
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

