The Jeans That Will Never Die

A few years ago, my Mom gave me a pair of jeans that didn’t fit her anymore. She’s a few inches taller than me so they were a little long but fit well otherwise. I asked her to cut them off into capris, which she did and I wore them for several years. I noticed at the beginning of the year that they were getting pretty threadbare. I bought a denim patch to try and salvage them but eventually had to accept the inevitable truth that the jeans had had their day in the sun and were ready to go to the big consignment shop in the sky. There were certain patches of denim that were still good though, so I cut out those bits of fabric thinking I might use them in a future project.

Last week, I decided to use Pink Penguin’s tute to make my Mom a Mother’s Day present. I didn’t have any linen so I used the denim instead:

Patchwork Basket

It’s a little smaller than I would’ve liked, but that’s only because I’d never done any patchwork before and I made my seams too big. Still, I like the way it turned out and I love that the jeans will live on, having borne the booties of two Floofenheimers. Seculo seculorum!

P.S. Wow, you guys didn’t give Ashlee Simpson any love! I’m not a big fan of hers, but I do like that ditty. How ’bout some Shins instead? Sea Legs is one of my favorite songs from their last album:

6 Responses to “The Jeans That Will Never Die”

  1. Lil' d Says:

    Lucky mum – that looks great.

    Thanks so much for stopping by the blog. Take care.

  2. kate Says:

    It’s gorgeous! I have a ton of denim from old jeans to use up and I think this is a perfect way to do it!

    Also, I love The Shins!

  3. Kriss Says:

    Your mom’s tote is adorable!! Wasn’t it hard to sew through the denim? (I mean – did you wreck a bunch of needles on your machine?)

    I love patchwork, but the recommended seam allowances are usually too tight for me, too. I just cut the squares a little bigger, & it turns out okay.

  4. Amelia Says:

    Very pretty! Did your mom love it?

  5. nicole Says:

    That is adorable!

  6. Ravenhill Says:

    so darn pretty!

Leave a Reply

